Skip to Content

The 2014 Women of the Year Awards were  presented on 7 March 2014 (the eve of International Women's Day) at Parliament House. These Awards recognise the many achievements of women across NSW.

In 2014, the Awards included four prestigious categories: the Premier's Award for Woman of the Year, Harvey Norman's Young Woman of the Year Award, A.H. Beard's Community Hero Award and Local Women of the Year.

239 nominations were received from across NSW highlighting the outstanding achievements and contributions that women are making in our state. The judging panel had a very difficult job in selecting finalists with so many excellent nominees.

For the first time, we introduced a new category - the Young Woman of the Year Award. This award acknowledges the important role young women have in our communities and is proudly sponsored by our partner, Harvey Norman.


Winner of premier's award for woman of the year 2014

Turia Pitt from Narrawallee near Ulladulla

View the Finalists' biographies here.

Winner of Harvey Norman's young woman of the year award 2014

Lakshmi Logathassan from Holsworthy

View the Finalists' biographies here.

Winner of A.H. Beard's community hero award

View the Finalists' biographies here.

Was this content useful?
Last updated: 21 Sep 2020