Skip to Content

Now in their sixth year, the NSW Women  of the Year Awards recognise and celebrate the outstanding contribution made by  women across NSW to industry, community and society. The Awards profile women  who have demonstrated excellence in their career and elsewhere, women who make  significant contributions in their community and young women whose achievements  make them leaders in changing the social and business landscape.

The 2017 NSW Women of the Year Awards  were presented at a ceremony in Sydney on the morning of International  Women’s Day, Wednesday 8 March. The event was held in the presence of His  Excellency General The Honourable David Hurley AC DSC (Ret’d), Governor of New  South Wales and Mrs Hurley. The Premier, the Hon. Gladys Berejiklian MP, the  Minister for Women, the Hon. Tanya Davies and the Minister for Aboriginal  Affairs, the Hon. Sarah Mitchell MLC joined for the ceremony.

Over 400 guests, including Members of Parliament attended  the ceremony which was presided by MC Gretel Killeen.

View the Finalists' biographies here.


NSW Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year

Associate Professor Catherine Birman

NSW Aboriginal Woman of the Year

Kristal Kinsela

Community Hero Award

Debbie Higgison

Harvey Norman Young Woman of the Year

Dr Nicole Seebacher

Rex Airlines Regional Woman of the Year

Julia Harpham

NSW Business Woman of the Year

Gina Field

Was this content useful?
Last updated: 21 Sep 2020