Department of Family and Community Services

Vote now for your 2013 NSW Woman of the Year

share on Facebook share on Twitter share on Yammershare by email

09 Dec 2012

Minister for Women Pru Goward is encouraging people across the state to get involved and vote for their NSW Woman of the Year.

Four wonderful women have been shortlisted for the 2013 NSW Women of the Year Awards in the People’s Choice – Community Hero category.
“This year we received more than 150 nominations from across NSW showcasing incredible women who have made a significant contribution to their local community – including the local heroes and volunteers among us who deserve to be recognised,” Ms Goward said.

“It was a tough task for the judging panel in selecting a shortlist of candidates for the People’s Choice – Community Hero Award because for the second year running, the calibre of nominations was so high.

“It was inspirational to hear what these Women have been able to achieve and learn about the great work they are doing throughout NSW.

“It’s now up to the community to choose the 2013 People’s Choice winner by voting online at,” Ms Goward said.

The finalists in the People’s Choice – Community Hero category are:

  • Rebecca Morgan from Leichhardt – dedicated volunteer and fundraiser with RPA Newborn-Care and Little Wonder, providing support to families with a premature or ill baby.
  • Francis Bodkin from Tahmoor – Elder and ‘knowledge keeper’ of the Dharawal people; environmental advocate who has worked for decades to see Aboriginal traditional knowledge recognised as science.
  • Jessica Brown from Rose Bay – founder of Life Changing Experiences Foundation and its SISTER2Sister mentoring program, which changes the lives of hundreds of disadvantaged young women.
  • Mary Slater from Walhallow – advocate for people who have experienced family and domestic violence and child sexual abuse in the Aboriginal communities of Walhallow, Werris Creek and Quirindi.

“I encourage everyone across NSW to get behind these community heroes and vote now,” Ms Goward said.

“Profiles of the shortlisted nominees are available online at and NSW residents can vote until midnight on Sunday 24 February 2013.

“The finalists for the Premier’s Award for Woman of the Year category will be announced later this month.

“Winners of both awards will be announced by the Premier of NSW at a special reception on Thursday 7 March 2013,” Ms Goward said.