Department of Family and Community Services


share on Facebook share on Twitter share on Yammershare by email

07 Mar 2013

NSW Premier Barry O’Farrell and Minister for Women Pru Goward today announced the winners of the 2013 NSW Women of the Year Awards during a special reception at NSW Parliament House.

“Today’s winners are exceptional women who have made outstanding contributions in their chosen field - they deserve our recognition and support,” Mr O’Farrell said.

“Both these women are fantastic role models and these awards are our way of publicly thanking them for giving so much to our state,” he said.

“It is fitting these awards were presented on the eve of International Women’s Day - a day when we celebrate the crucial role women play in our communities.”

Premier’s Woman of the Year Award

The winner of the 2013 Premier’s Woman of the Year Award is Dr Cathy Foley - one of Australia’s foremost scientists.

“Dr Foley’s discoveries in the field of science are unparalleled, both in Australia and internationally,” Mr O’Farrell said.

“She is currently the chief of the CSIRO’s Materials Science and Engineering division and for the last 28 years she has been actively promoting the role of women in physics and science.

“Dr Foley has pursued ground-breaking research in all areas of science, winning not only numerous accolades but also the respect and admiration of her peers.

“She is leading the way for women in science - a traditionally male dominated field - and inspiring a generation of young girls to follow in her footsteps.”

“She is leading the way for women in science - a traditionally male dominated field - and inspiring a generation of young girls to follow in her footsteps.”

The Premier’s Woman of the Year award is chosen by a judging panel, who select the winner from a shortlist taken from public nominations.

People's Choice Community Hero

The winner of the 2013 People's Choice Community Hero is Jessica Brown- founder and CEO of Life Changing Experiences Foundation and its SISTER2Sister mentoring program.

“Jessica’s work has changed the lives of hundreds of young women across NSW,” Ms Goward said.

“This young powerhouse has made a considerable commitment to transforming the lives of disadvantaged and underprivileged young girls by giving them the chance to break the cycle of destitution and abuse.

“Her determination for young girls to have a better future is what continues to drive her to make such a positive contribution.”

The People’s Choice Community Hero award is the category nominated and voted on by the people of NSW.

Ms Goward thanked the hundreds of people who submitted nominations and voted in the People’s Choice Community Hero category.

“Like me, I am sure the people of NSW were inspired reading the stories and work that all of this year’s nominees are doing across our state.”

This year’s judging panel was led by Ms Goward and included:

  • Emanuel Perdis – Managing Director, Napoleon Perdis
  • Juliet Bourke – Partner, Human Capital, Deloitte
  • Jeni O’Dowd – Editor at Large for the Daily Telegraph
  • Brian Seidler – Executive Director, Master Builders Association of NSW