Department of Family and Community Services

Premier's Finalists - NSW Woman of the Year Award

share on Facebook share on Twitter share on Yammershare by email

20 Feb 2013

Minister for Women Pru Goward today announced the six finalists for the 2013 NSW Premier’s Woman of the Year Award.

Ms Goward said this important initiative helps us acknowledge the outstanding work that women are doing in our communities.

“I am pleased to announce the finalists for the Premier’s Woman of the Year Award are:

  • Dr Cathy Foley from St Ives Chase – one Australia’s foremost scientists, leading the way for women in science and inspiring a generation of young girls to follow in her footsteps.
  • Gina Field from Claremont Meadows – leader in the traditionally male dominated field of private security, who has also shown unwavering dedication and commitment to the community of Penrith.
  • Dr Diann Rodgers-Healey from Kiama – founder of the Australian Centre for Leadership for Women; mentor and research leader in gender equality.
  • Dr Eman Sharobeem from Abbotsbury – ardent campaigner against forced and arranged marriage; dedicated to ensuring women’s welfare, in particular new immigrants living in Sydney’s west.
  • Chelsea Bonner from Manly – fashion and modelling industry pioneer, dedicated to challenging and changing the perception of beauty in the fashion industry by promoting women’s health.
  • Najeeba Wazefadost from South Granville – advocate for refugee women; helping them to learn English and develop skills to find employment and assisting young children with education.

“It was fascinating to read these remarkable women’s stories and find out about the ground-breaking work that they are doing throughout the state,” Ms Goward said.

The winner of the Premier’s Woman of the Year Award and the People’s Choice – Community Hero Award will be announced by the NSW Premier at a special reception on Thursday 7 March.

The judging panel that shortlisted the candidates after being nominated by the public was led by the Minister for Women Pru Goward and included:

  • Emanuel Perdis – Managing Director of Napoleon Perdis
  • Juliet Bourke – Partner, Human Capital, Deloitte
  • Jeni O’Dowd – Editor at Large for the Daily Telegraph
  • Brian Seidler – Executive Director, Master Builders Association of NSW

View the biographies of the finalists for the Premiers Award.