Department of Family and Community Services

Safer Pathway

share on Facebook share on Twitter share on Yammershare by email

Safer Pathway proposes a fundamental change in how agencies and organisations support victim’s safety in NSW. Through Safer Pathway, the right services are provided to victims when they need them, in a coordinated way.

The key components of Safer Pathway build on the existing service response. These are:

  • a Domestic Violence Safety Assessment Tool (DVSAT) to better and consistently identify the level of domestic violence threat to victims
  • a Central Referral Point to electronically manage and monitor referrals
  • a state-wide network of Local Coordination Points that facilitate local responses and provide victims with case coordination and support. Safer Pathway is operational in 48 sites: Albury, Armidale, Ashfield/Burwood, Auburn/Granville, Bankstown, Bathurst, Blacktown, Blue Mounatins, Bourke, Broken Hill, Campbelltown, Central Sydney, Coffs Harbour, Deniliquin, Dubbo, Far South Coast, Fairfield, Goulburn, Gosford, Griffith, Hunter Valley, Illawarra, Lismore, Liverpool, Moree, Mt Druitt, Newcastle, Newtown, Northern Beaches, North Sydney, Nowra, Orange, Parramatta, Parkes, Penrith, Port Macquarie, Queanbeyan, St George, Sutherland, Tamworth, Taree, Toronto, Tweed Heads, Wagga Wagga, Walgett, Waverley, Wollongong and Wyong.
  • Safety Action Meetings in which members develop plans for victims at serious threat of death, disability or injury as a result of domestic and family violence
  • information sharing legislation that allows service providers to share information about victims and perpetrators so that victims do not have to retell their story multiple times, to hold perpetrators accountable and promote an integrated response for victims at serious threat.

It Stops Here Safer Pathway Resources: